Alumni Council minutes February 7, 2015

Mollohan Campus Community Center

Members in attendance: John Hoover, Alumni Association President; Bob Marshall, President Elect; Bill Deel, Immediate Past President, Ruth Chisler-Baughman, Secretary/Treasurer; Dennis Carpenter, Mark Downey, Kyre-Ann Minney, Mike Taylor, Ralph Holder, Martha Deel, President Peter Barr, Debbie Nagy, Alumni Director; and North Central WV Chapter Representative Julie Yearego. Suzi Hauman joined the meeting via conference call.

Greg King, Associate Vice President of Enrollment and Denny Pounds, Vice President of College Advancement/Director of the College Foundation was in attendance; Greg to ask the Alumni Council to help grow the enrollment and Denny to speak about the Foundation.

President John Hoover opened the meeting by thanking those who were in attendance and asking Bill Deel to lead everyone in prayer. He then led Council in the Pledge of the Allegiance.

Minutes from the November 2014 meeting were approved as written. (Holder/Carpenter)

President Barr's Report:

- The new Heath and Physical Education Department was started in January with alumnus Mike Rust and his wife Nancy taking the lead in donating several thousand dollars' worth of equipment
- Spoke of where enrollment is and where it needs to go
- Liberty Raleigh High School sends the most students to GSC
- Goodwin Hall and the Waco Center play a roll in recruiting
- The college's strengths include: Land Resources, Education, Criminal Justice, Math and Science
- Have been able to maintain scholarships but these need to be grown
- Announced the February 28th Snowball Tailgate/Alumni Basketball Games

Debbie gave account balances, these being:

Checking \$4,122.34; CDs \$5,205.02 and \$7,986.56

Nominations & Election of the 2015-2017 Alumni Association President and President Elect

 Nominating Committee Chair Ralph Holder presented President Elect Bob Marshall as the nominee for President and Dennis Carpenter as President Elect; these individuals taking their new seats at the April 24th Alumni Banquet. Motion passed unanimously (Holder/Downey)

Alumni Award Nominees

Nominating Committee Chair Ralph Holder presented his committee's slate of nominees
to be recognized at the Alumni Banquet, these being Walt Turner '69; Alumnus of the
Year; Joe Evans '63, Alumni Achievement Award; Mike Lieving '76, Community Service

Award; Ressie (Brown) Thomas '90, Outstanding Teacher Award; Karina Kendrick '08, Outstanding Young Alumna, and Tony Minney '08, Outstanding Young Alumnus.

 Additionally Ralph announced that his committee had decided not to give a Posthumous Award per say this year that we have an "In Memoriam Section" in the Banquet's Program for Coach Earl "Whitey" Adolfson, Dr. Billy M. Atkinson '56, Joyce (Georgalis) Geyh '53, Tom McPherson '58, Ronnie Barker Peters '69, Frances (Myers) Schmetzer '43, and H. Laban White, Jr. '37. Suzi asked that Robert "Ted" Hauman '65 be added to his list. Hearing no objection, the full slate was approved as presented.

Respectfully submitted	
Debbie Nagy	2/7/2015