GSC News

Three Lady Pioneers Named to WVIAC All-Conference Teams

Princeton, WV– Fairmont State junior guard Kaitlin Snyder has been named the WVIAC’s Player of the Year, as voted on by the league coaches. Pitt-Johnstown guard Kaitlynn Fratz has been named the conference’s Freshman of the Year while Concord’s Kenny Osborne has been tabbed the Coach of the Year.

Snyder, who was the 2011 Baisi Award winner, guided the Falcons to a fifth-place finish in the WVIAC regular-season standings. She keyed FSU to a seven-game winning streak down the stretch to propel the squad into fifth. The Falcons concluded the regular season with a 17-9 overall mark, including a 14-8 record against league competition.

Recently named an Academic All-American, Snyder picked up three WVIAC Player of the Week accolades on the year. She finished second in the WVIAC with her 21.8 points per contest. Snyder, a native of Charleston, W. Va., ranks fourth in steals (2.50) and made three-point baskets (2.46/game) while her 4.31 assists per game are sixth in the WVIAC. She also ranks sixth in three-point percentage (38.1 percent) and seventh in the league in free throw percentage at 79.4 percent. Snyder’s assist-to-turnover ratio is seventh best (1.45).

Fratz, a native of Accident, Md., concluded her rookie season in the league as the sixth-best scorer at 17.4 points per game.  Her 1.77 steals per outing put her 12th in the WVIAC. Fratz’s 1.65 three-point field goals made per night put her 14th in the conference standings. She picked up a WVIAC Player of the Week honor on Dec. 20. Her play on the final day of the regular season helped UPJ earn the No. 7 seed in the WVIAC Tournament.

Osborne guided Concord to a second-place finish after registering a 21-5 overall mark, including an 18-4 record against league competition. The award is the second for Osborne, who also took home the honor in 2003. Osborne coached three student-athletes that picked up all-conference accolades.

Four members of this year’s first-team all-conference selections are repeat first-team award winners. Lydia Bridenbaugh, Jamie Kaufman, Kaitlin Snyder and Tenisha Wilson were all on the first team a season ago.

Below are the 2011-12 WVIAC all-conference award winners.

First Team
Kayla Ayers (West Liberty, Sr., G, 6-0, Parkersburg, W. Va.)
Lydia Bridenbaugh (WV Wesleyan, Sr., G, 5-10, Chillicothe, Ohio)
Jolysa Brown (Concord, Sr., C, 6-0, Hinton, W. Va.)
Kaitlin Fratz (Pitt-Johnstown, Fr., G, 5-4, Accident, Md.)
Jamie Kaufman (WV Wesleyan, Sr., F, 6-1, Damascus, Md.)
Mishae Miles (Glenville State, Sr., Fr, 6-0, Chicago, Ill.)
Erika Rousculp (Charleston, So., C, 6-2, Worthington, Ohio)
Kaitlin Snyder (Fairmont State, Jr., G, 5-7, Charleston, W. Va.)
Tenisha Wilson (Glenville State, Sr., G, 5-9, Chicago, Ill.)

Second Team
Camisha Alexander (Concord, Sr., G, 5-4, Beckley, W. Va.)
Paige Alviani (Seton Hill, So., G, 5-8, Hopewell, Pa.)
Andrea Bertrand (Concord, So., F., 5-11, Midlothian, Va.)
Katie Biggs (Shepherd, Sr., G, 5-9, Sykesville, Md.)
Emily Daniel (Shepherd, Jr., G, 5-8, Beaver, W. Va.)
Hillary Southworth (West Liberty, So., G, 5-10, Twinsburg, Ohio)
Page Turner (Davis & Elkins, Jr., G, 5-6, Poquoson, Va.)
Danielle Woodmore (Glenville State, Sr., G, 5-5, Louisville, Ky.)

Honorable Mention
Amber Avery (Ohio Valley, Sr., F, 5-9, Novi, Mich.)
Jasmine Blanton (WV State, Jr., G, 5-8, Toledo, Ohio)
Charlene Diggs (Bluefield State, Jr., G, 5-5, Beckley, W. Va.)
Hailey Garrett (Fairmont State, Fr., F, 6-0, Fairmont, W. Va.)
Jorden Lykes (Davis & Elkins, So., F, 5-10, Prince George, Va.)
Amanda Peoples (Alderson-Broaddus, Jr., G/F, 5-9, Morgantown, W. Va.)
Cassy Sanderson (Wheeling Jesuit, Sr., G, 5-8, Elizabeth, Pa.)

All-Freshman Team
Gabby Flinchum (Shepherd, C, 6-3, North Potomac, Md.)
Kaitlynn Fratz (Pitt-Johnstown, G, 5-4, Accident, Md.)
Hailey Garrett (Fairmont State, F, 6-0, Fairmont, W. Va.)
Emily Lohr (Fairmont State, F, 6-1, Stoystown, Pa.)
Emily Robinson (Wheeling Jesuit, G, 5-6, Circleville, Ohio)

Player of the Year:
Kaitlin Snyder, Fairmont State

Freshman of the Year:
Kaitlynn Fratz, Pitt-Johnstown

Coach of the Year:
Kenny Osborne, Concord

This entry was posted in Women's Basketball. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.
  • Categories

  • Archives