GSC News

Jamel Morris Named to WVIAC All-Freshman Team

Jamel Morris had a great freshman year as he averaged 15 points per game

Princeton, WV – University of Charleston senior guard PJ Reyes has been named the WVIAC’s Player of the Year as voted on by the league’s coaches. West Liberty guard C.J. Hester picked up Freshman of the Year honors while West Liberty head coach Jim Crutchfield picked up his third consecutive Coach of the Year accolade and fourth overall.

Reyes, a 6’5” 190 lb. guard from Taylor, Mich., propelled the Golden Eagles to a 23-5 overall record on the season, including an 18-4 mark in WVIAC play. He guided the squad to a No. 2 seed in the WVIAC Tournament and has UC as the No.3 team in the Atlantic Region heading into postseason play.

Reyes is fifth in the conference in scoring at 20.7 points per game. He is also in the top 10 of the league in blocked shots (ninth with 1.04 per outing). Reyes is 16th in the conference in rebounding average, grabbing 6.2 a night.  He is drained 50.2 percent of his shots on the season and is second on UC’s team in steals. Reyes has guided the Golden Eagles to 11 consecutive victories entering the WVIAC Tournament.

Hester, a 6’4” 200 lb. guard from West Miffin, Pa., had a big impact for WLU this season. He ranked third on the Hilltoppers’ squad and 28th in the WVIAC with 14.6 points a game. He led the team with 8.8 boards per contest, tying him for third in the league. He also drained 60.9 percent of his attempts from the floor, which is the fourth best in the conference.

Crutchfield earned his fourth Coach of the Year honor after guiding WLU to its third straight league title and a 26-2 overall mark. The Hilltoppers were 21-1 in WVIAC play. For the second consecutive season, Crutchfield guided WLU to the top spot in the NABC Coaches Poll. Now in his eighth season, Crutchfield has led the Hilltoppers to at least 20 wins every year. WLU leads the nation in scoring at 103.3 points per outing. As a team, the Hilltoppers are netting 50.4 percent of their shots from the floor and outscore their opponents by 21 points per game.

First Team
Kurklin Bohanon (Alderson-Broaddus, Jr., G, 6-3, 170, Cleveland, Ohio)
Steve Catich (Wheeling Jesuit, Sr., F, 6-5, 210, Tyrone, Pa.)
Alex Falk (West Liberty, Jr., G, 6-4, 180, Upper Sandusky, Ohio)
Cedric Harris (West Liberty, So., G, 6-0, 175, Zanesville, Ohio)
Raymont McElroy (WV Wesleyan, Sr., G/F, 6-2, 210, Milwaukee, Wis.)
Chad Moore (Shepherd, Jr., F, 6-5, 195, Winchester, Va.)
Nick Novak (Pitt-Johnstown, Jr., G, 6-0, 180, Murrysville, Pa.)
PJ Reyes (Charleston, Sr., G, 6-5, 190, Taylor, Mich.)
Kelsey Williams (WV Wesleyan, Jr., F, 6-7, 224, Sandusky, Ohio)

Second Team

Javaughn Acree-Manuel (Concord, Sr., G, 6-1, 180, Lansing, Mich.)
Nate Barnes (Alderson-Broaddus, Sr., G, 5-10, 180, Cleveland, Ohio)
Steve Custis (Fairmont State, Sr., G, 6-1, 170, Frederick, Md.)
Chris Giles (Seton Hill, r-Sr., G, 6-4, 185, West Mifflin, Pa.)
Patrick Grubbs (Pitt-Johnstown, Sr., F/C, 6-8, 280, Turtle Creek, Pa.)
Matt Miller (Seton Hill, So., G, 6-4, 195, Arnold, Md.)
Ben Siefert (Wheeling Jesuit, Jr., G, 6-2, 190, Reynoldsburg, Ohio)
Isaac Thornton (Fairmont State, Jr., G, 6-3, 180, Martinsburg, W. Va.)

Honorable Mention

Kendall Allison (Ohio Valley, Sr., F, 6-3, 190, Baltimore, Md.)
Corey Bethea (WV State, Sr., G, 6-3, 160, Philadelphia, Pa.)
Eladio Espinosa (Charleston, Jr., G/F, 6-7, 225, Norlina, N.C.)
David Ford (WV State, Jr., G, 6-5, 225, Glen Burnie, Md.)
Tim Hausfeld (West Liberty, Jr., G, 5-7, 145, Toledo, Ohio)
C.J. Hester (West Liberty, Fr., G, 6-4, 200, West Miffin, Pa.)
PJ Turner (Davis & Elkins, Sr., G, 5-11, 180, Auburndale, Fla.)

All-Freshman Team

Austin Cunningham (Ohio Valley, G, 6-2, 175, Vincent, Ohio)
Shawn Dyer (West Liberty, G, 6-0, 168, Marion, Ohio)
C.J. Hester (West Liberty, G, 6-4, 200, West Miffin, Pa.)
Chase Morgan (Bluefield State, G, 5-11, 160, Beckley, W. Va.)
Jamel Morris (Glenville State, G, 6-3, 165, Gahanna, Ohio)

Player of the Year:

PJ Reyes, Charleston

Freshman of the Year:

C.J. Hester, West Liberty

Coach of the Year:

Jim Crutchfield, West Liberty

This entry was posted in Men's Basketball. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.
  • Categories

  • Archives