GSC News

Dejana Ludoski Named to MEC Volleyball First Team All-Conference


Senior Dejana Ludoski has been named to the MEC First Team All-Conference Volleyball Team

Bridgeport, W.Va. – After leading Wheeling Jesuit to an undefeated record in Mountain East Conference play, senior Jenna Pew has been named the Mountain East Conference Player of the Year. In addition, teammate Haley Kindall was named Mountain East Conference Freshman of the Year and WJU head coach Christy Benner the MEC Coach of the Year.

Pew, a middle blocker and setter from Marshallville, Ohio, led the conference in hitting percentage with .358 and was fourth in the league in kills per set with 2.94. Pew led the Cardinals with 41 service aces on the year and also provided 419 assists on the year (3.46 per set). She also recorded 178 digs and 98 total blocks on the year for WJU.

Kindall, a middle blocker from Westerville, Ohio, led Wheeling Jesuit with 113 total blocks on the year. She posted a hitting percentage of .329 (fourth-best in the MEC) and tallied 294 kills on the year.

Benner led Wheeling Jesuit to a perfect 16-0 mark in Mountain East Conference play and a 31-5 regular season record. The Cardinals were tabbed first in the most recent Atlantic Region rankings.

In addition to the individual awards, the league announced its 2013 All-Mountain East teams. The teams were selected in a vote by the league’s coaches. Wheeling Jesuit led the way with six total selections. Fairmont State had four first team selections, and Charleston had two first team and two honorable mention honorees.

All-Mountain East Conference First Team
Pos. Name Yr. School
S Tabbie Bias Jr. Fairmont State
OH Katharine Furlong So. Charleston
OH Dejana Ludoksi Sr. Glenville State
MH Kalya Motheral Jr. Shepherd
MB/S Jenna Pew Sr. Wheeling Jesuit
Libero Makenzie Ripley Jr. Wheeling Jesuit
MB Victoria Severo Jr. Charleston
Libero Tiff Smathers Jr. Fairmont State
OH Bri Swann Sr. Fairmont State
MH Amber Wilson Sr. Fairmont State
All-Mountain East Conference Second Team
Pos. Name Yr. School
OH Karley Allen Fr. UVa-Wise
MB Erin Bond Jr. West Virginia Wesleyan
OH/MB Sarah Jones Jr. Concord
MB Haley Kindall Fr. Wheeling Jesuit
OH Kayce Krucki Fr. Wheeling Jesuit
S Casey Pattyn Sr. West Virginia Wesleyan
RS Samantha Swann Jr. West Virginia Wesleyan
MH Kelsey Volkmer Jr. Urbana
All-Mountain East Conference Honorable Mention
Pos. Name Yr. School
RS AnneElise Albrecht Jr. West Virginia State
RS Clairissa Larry Jr. Charleston
OH Melani Lewis Sr. Shepherd
Libero Courtney Pyeritz So. West Liberty
RS/S Maddie Strall So. Wheeling Jesuit
OH Emma Schleucher Fr. Wheeling Jesuit
OH Brytni Willis Jr. Concord
MB Breanna Youlton Sr. Charleston
Mountain East Conference All-Freshman Team
Pos. Name Yr. School
OH Olivia Livengood Fr. Charleston
MB Haley Kindall Fr. Wheeling Jesuit
OH Kayce Krucki Fr. Wheeling Jesuit
OH Karley Allen Fr. UVa-Wise
OH Hannah Moore Fr. West Virginia Wesleyan
OH Emma Schleucher Fr. Wheeling Jesuit
Libero Lauren Summa Fr. Shepherd
This entry was posted in Women's Volleyball. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.
  • Categories

  • Archives