GSC News

GSC’s Darren Elliott Named Defensive MVP in National Bowl

GSC senior cornerback Darren Elliott was named the Blue Nation Defensive MVP in the 2013 National Bowl

Miami, Fla.  -  Hundreds of fans, family members, and loyal patrons descended on the campus of Florida International University to see former NFL Coach Mike Stock’s Red Nation team take on current Lehigh Valley Steelhawks head coach Chris Thompson battle it out in the 4th Annual National Bowl Game. The game was played at Alfosno Field at FIU Stadium in Miami, FL seeing many friends of the program headed to South Beach for sun, dinner, and shopping.

Meanwhile, the 100 players participating in the game were there for glory. Glorious this day was as 66 total points were scored as the Red beat the Blue 40-26 in a shootout that saw the best hitting, running, and passing see in the National Bowl series. National Bowl founder said “it was the most talented group we have had yet and we are expecting to see a lot of these guys in NFL and CFL camps.”

Some know stars were honored such as NE-10 Conference Player of the Year QB Joe Clancy while new ones were born when Overall Game MVP QB Mason Espinosa of Ohio Wesleyan stole the show.

Other stars that stood out were Darren Elliott of Glenville State College, Jake Edmiston of Colorado Mesa University, and William Wright of University of West Georgia.

Scouts from 10 NFL teams were on hand including several CFL and arena league scouts. If you did not get a chance to see the game live it will be shown on replay soon on the Florida Sports Network’s website or on the National Bowl presented by East Preps YouTube channel here:

We suggest next time you make the trip to see the best players you’ve never seen!

Award Winners

National Bowl Overall MVP: #15 Mason Espinosa – Ohio Wesleyan QB (RED)

Red Nation Offensive MVP: #19 Jermaine Sherman – East Texas Baptist University WR

Red Nation Defensive MVP: #25 Jake Edmiston – Colorado Mesa University LB

Blue Nation Offensive MVP: #14 Joe Clancy – Merrimack QB

Blue Nation Defensive MVP: #11 Darren Elliott – Glenville State CB

Overall Special Teams MVP: #40 Andrew Muzljakovich – Olivet Nazrene University K/P *(NB Record 56 yard Field Goal)

Overall Lineman MVP Award: #55 William Wright – University of West Georgia OL

James Pratt Faith & Courage Award: #44 Ryan Corbin – Southwestern Oklahoma State University

Game Balls: #22 Joe Rollins – Mcdaniel RB, Phede Celestine – Marist OL

This entry was posted in Football. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.
  • Categories

  • Archives