GSC News

2011 WVIAC Multi Championships Set to Kickoff at Glenville State College

The 2011 West Virginia Intercollegiate Athletic Conference’s (WVIAC) Track & Field Championships are set to get on their way this Thursday and Friday at Glenville State College with the men’s decathlon and women’s heptathlon on April 21-22. Ten men and nine women will test there skills over the two day competition as they look to better last year’s defending and returning champions Cuylor Edgell of WV Wesleyan and Erin Beattie of Seton Hill.

The men will compete in 10 events during the two days in the 100m, long jump, shot put, high jump, 400m, 110 hurdles, discus, pole vault, javelin, and 1500m. Only 3 competitors from last year’s decathlon return to compete for the crown (Cuylor Edgell – WV Wesleyan (1st and meet record holder), Josh Fouse – Seton Hill (3rd), and Dan Grosso – Seton Hill (9th)). Wheeling Jesuit’s Craig Neiswanger also returns to the competition this year after a year off, he currently is ranked 1st entering the 2 day event.

Six additional athletes will compete in the decathlon for a chance at the crown: WV Wesleyan’s Cameron Lemley and Andrew Ferguson, Glenville’s Mario Wright and Bradley Benson, and Seton Hill’s Sean Keffer and Dominic Marinello.

Seven competitors from last year’s meet return as they look to take down defending champion and meet record holder Erin Beattie of Seton Hill. Although Beattie is overcoming shoulder surgeries in the off season she has climbed to the 2nd place ranking in the conference behind last year’s 4th place finisher Ashli Knotts of WV Wesleyan proving her determination to win. Jasmine Claggett – WV Wesleyan (3rd), Brittany Pratt – Concord (5th), Dianna Griffin – Seton Hill (6th), Nikki Emborski – WV Wesleyan (8th), and Jenna Howell – WV Wesleyan (12th) will look to close the gap on Knotts and Beattie as they compete over two days in the 100H, high jump, shot put, 200m, long jump, javelin and 800m.

Two additional competitors look to mix up the ranks: Seton Hill’s Maura Hansen and Lauren Mariano.Competition will begin on Day 1,

April 21st at 11am and Day 2, April 22nd will begin at 10am.

This entry was posted in Athletics, Men's Track & Field, Women's Track & Field. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.
  • Categories

  • Archives