Glenville State College Board of Governors Special Meeting November 8, 2019 Heflin Administration Building, Conference Room 213A Glenville, West Virginia 1:00 PM

Members Present:	 Mr. Greg Smith, Chairperson Mr. Tim Butcher, Vice Chair Mr. Stephen Gandee, via teleconference Ms. Ann Starcher Green, via teleconference (non-voting member until officially seated) Mr. Ralph Holder Mr. Robert Marshall Mr. Doug Morris Mr. Mike Rust, via teleconference Dr. Kevin Evans, Faculty Representative Mr. Jason Gum, Staff Representative Mr. Colton Ring, Student Representative
Members Absent:	Mr. Tilden "Skip" Hackworth

Faculty & Staff Present: Dr. Kathleen Nelson, Interim President Ms. Teresa Sterns, Executive Assistant to the President

Call to Order

Chairperson Greg Smith called the meeting to order at 1:00 pm.

A quorum was established.

New Committee Assignments

Mr. Smith assigned the following Board committees for FY20:

Executive Committee

- Mr. Greg Smith, (Chair)
- Mr. Tim Butcher, (Vice Chair and Chair, Board Governance and Human Resources Committee)
- Mr. Stephen Gandee, (Chair, Enrollment and Student Life Committee)
- Mr. Ralph Holder, (Chair, Academic Affairs Committee)
- Mr. Mike Rust (Chair, Business and Finance Committee)
- Dr. Kathleen Nelson, Ex-officio

Board Governance and Human Resources

- Mr. Tim Butcher, Chair
- Mr. Bob Marshall, Vice Chair
- Mr. Greg Smith
- Dr. Kathleen Nelson, Ex-officio

Business and Finance Committee

- Mr. Mike Rust, Chair
- Mr. Doug Morris, Vice Chair
- Mr. Jason Gum, Staff Rep.
- Mr. John Beckvold, Ex-officio

Enrollment and Student Life Committee

- Mr. Stephen Gandee, Chair
- Ms. Ann Green, Vice Chair
- Mr. Colton Ring, Student Rep.
- Mr. Marty Carver, Ex-officio

Academic Affairs Committee

- Mr. Ralph Holder, Chair
- Mr. Skip Hackworth, Vice Chair
- Dr. Kevin Evans, Faculty Rep.
- Dr. Gary Morris, Ex-officio
- Mr. Tom Ratliff, Ex-officio

Public Comment

N/A

Executive Session

IT WAS MOVED BY BOB MARSHALL THAT THE BOARD OF GOVERNORS GO INTO EXECUTIVE SESSION UNDER THE AUTHORITY OF WV CODE §6-9A-4(b)(6) TO DISCUSS POSSIBLE APPOINTMENTS TO THE PRESIDENTIAL SEARCH COMMITTEE. TIM BUTCHER SECONDED THE MOTION.

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY.

Rise from Executive Session

IT WAS MOVED BY JASON GUM THAT THE BOARD RISE FROM EXECUTIVE SESSION AND RECONVENE IN OPEN SESSION. KEVIN EVANS SECONDED THE MOTION.

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY.

Action Emanating from Executive Session

After discussions in executive session, Mr. Smith provided the Board with a proposed list of appointees to the Presidential Search Committee for approval.

IT WAS MOVED BY KEVIN EVANS THAT THE BOARD OF GOVERNORS APPROVE THE APPOINTED PRESIDENTIAL SEARCH COMMITTEE AS PRESENTED. IN THE EVENT ONE OR BOTH COMMUNITY MEMBERS CHOOSE NOT TO SERVE, THE PRESIDENT WILL HAVE THE AUTHORITY TO ASSIGN ANOTHER MEMBER(S) THAT WERE PROVIDED TO HER. TIM BUTCHER SECONDED THE MOTION.

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY.

Mr. Smith announced that Ann Green is participating as a Board guest only until she is sworn in at the December Board meeting.

<u>Committee of the Whole</u> Amended Presidential Search Process/Timelines Procedure

Dr. Nelson provided an amended search process and timelines procedure to the Board for review and approval. Upon the Board's approval the process/procedure will be sent to the WV Higher Education Policy Commission for approval.

It was suggested to request that Human Resources include the same email list serve to the list of posting places that was used for the last presidential search.

The Board discussed and determined that the salary range of \$190,000-\$210,000 should be included in the posting.

IT WAS MOVED BY COLTON RING THAT THE BOARD OF GOVERNORS APPROVE THE AMENDED PRESIDENTIAL SEARCH PROCESS/TIMELINES PROCEDURE AS PRESENTED TO SEEK THE 25TH PRESIDENT OF GLENVILLE STATE COLLEGE BASED UPON APPROVAL BY THE WV HIGHER EDUCATION POLICY COMMISSION. BOB MARSHALL SECONDED THE MOTION.

MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY.

<u>Adjournment</u>

With no further business and hearing no objection, Chairperson Smith adjourned the meeting at 1:43 pm.

Greg Smith Chairperson

Teresa Sterns Executive Assistant to the President