Alumni Council Meeting February 18, 2017

GSC's Alumni Council met on Saturday, February 18th at 1:30 P.M. in Room 309 of the Mollohan Center with Council President Bob Marshall presiding over the meeting. Members present: Ralph Holder, Bill Deel, Gary Gillespie, David Gillespie, Dennis Carpenter, Sharon Gainer, Julie Yearego, Yvonne King, John Hoover, Maureen Gildein and Mark Downey. Council Member Doug Paterson joined the meeting by phone and Dr. Barr and Denny Pounds were in attendance to give their reports.

Dr. Barr reported on an enrollment of 1,800 students, compared to 1,308 when he arrived eleven years ago. He answered questions concerning the associate program (EDGE) with 18 hours, also questions about masters and online classes. Though Dr. Barr will be retiring in June, he promised to return often since his son and family are here. Accolades were given by Marshall with Council's applause.

The Foundation's report was given by Denny Pounds. He announced that:

1) David Hutchison and Marcal Lazenby would be doing fundraising and that the database now shows what sports, sororities/fraternities, clubs, etc. that our graduates participated in while at GSC. Alumni Director Deb Nagy has supplied information to make this possible.

2) Saturday, Feb. 25th has been slated for Winter Homecoming. There will be men's and women's alumni basketball game(s) that morning and then GSC's regular games will be played in the afternoon with WV Wesleyan being the Pioneers' opponent. There will be tailgates that day and royalty will be introduced.

3) The MEC College tournament will be held in Charleston March 1-5. There will be no hospitality room this year although a legislative reception will be held with our Board of Governors attending this event.

4) When asked, Denny Pounds reported that ten years ago, the Foundation had \$4.2 million; today, it's at \$13.7 million.

- 5) The portico at the Alumni House needs checked for leaks.
- 6) The web page is much improved and easier to use.

Minutes from the November meeting were approved as written.

Ralph Holder, Awards Committee Chair, presented the slate of nominees that his committee had chosen for recognition at April's Alumni Banquet, these being: Special Recognition: David Walker, National Coach of the Year Alumnus of the Year: Jack Albert Achievement: Betty King Community Achievement Award: Dr. John Westfall Outstanding Teachers (Public School): Kristee Allen, John Brown Alumni Chapter Award: Gary Gillespie Posthumous Award: Dora Heflin, Dolores Simmons, Bill Richardson Outstanding Young Alumnus/Alumna Award: Kate Ogle, Justin Griffith Retiring Professor Recognition: Wayne deRosset

Council accepted the slate of nominees presented by Ralph. The 2017 alumni awards will be given at the April 22 Alumni Banquet.

Julie Yearego moved that we recognize Dr. Barr on his retirement and award him a plaque for good service at the banquet. John Hoover seconded; motion carried.

Gary Gillespie introduced a statement to the Legislature:

1) Discussions identified a need for lobbyists to be advocates for GSC at the legislature.

2) Other colleges have lobbyists to represent their needs during each legislative session so we should appoint a committee to consider this idea.

3) It was thought that we could perhaps send invitations to legislative representatives in central WV and maybe invite them to a luncheon, thus soliciting their support in Charleston.

4) Alumni can recommend new students for a residence hall scholarship (\$500 per semester).

5) Council wants to come up with innovative recruiting ideas to increase the efforts already being made.

It was moved and seconded that GSC send letters of congratulations to alums in the legislature. David Gillespie/John Hoover.

Marshall reported that the Presidential Search Committee received 48 applications for the College Presidency. They pared the applications down to 10, then to five, and now have three candidates for the position: Drs. Egan, Donnley and Pellett.

Election of a new secretary/treasurer and a president-elect were conducted. Yvonne King became secretary/treasurer and Maureen Gildein, president-elect.

The meeting was adjourned at 3:30 P.M.

Yvonne King

2/18/2017