GSC News

Adams Named to Daktronics Women’s Basketball All-Region Team

Donita AdamsFour WVIAC women’s basketball stars are part of the 2009-10 Daktronics All-Atlantic Region squad.  West Liberty’s Tori Hansen and Glenville State’s Donita Adams are first team selections, while Fairmont State’s Ashley Vavrek and West Liberty’s Laura Malernee earned their way onto the second team.

Hansen (5-9, Jr., G, McKean, PA) ranks among the WVIAC’s top seven in scoring (2nd, 22.5 ppg), rebounding (7th, 7.3 rpg), assists (3rd, 5.0 apg), and steals (6th, 2.2 spg).  The two-time All-WVIAC first team selection has led West Liberty to a 22-9 overall mark and the third seed during this week’s NCAA Division II Atlantic Regional.
Adams (5-7, Sr., G, Germantown, MD) paced an 18-10 Glenville State squad that poured in a WVIAC-record 95.9 points per game.  The 2009-10 WVIAC Player of the Year leads the league in scoring at 22.6 points per outing.  She also contributed 6.1 rebounds and 2.2 steals per game as the Pioneers remained in contention for the league regular season title until the final day.
Vavrek (5-8, Sr., G, Bellaire, OH) recently earned WVIAC Tournament Most Valuable Player honors after leading FSU to their second post-season crown in three years.  The two-time All-WVIAC first team honoree stands third in the WVIAC with 21.3 points per game, including a 31-point outburst in Saturday’s overtime WVIAC Tournament championship game victory over West Liberty.
Malernee (5-11, Jr., G, Gahanna, OH) is the first player in NCAA women’s basketball history to record consecutive seasons with 120 or more made three-pointers.  The junior sank an all-divisions record 146 trifectas last season and leads Division II with 132 in 2009-10.  She averages 13.9 points and 2.2 assists for the 22-9 Lady Toppers as they enter NCAA Tournament play on Friday evening.
California (PA) guard Brooque Williams is the region’s Player of the Year.  Shippensburg’s Lauren Beckley and Cal’s Kayla Smith are the other members of the all-region first team.
The Atlantic Region is the largest in Division II with 45 schools.  It consists of the WVIAC, the Pennsylvania State Athletic Conference, the Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association, along with a pair of indepenedent institutions.  Voting for the Daktronics all-region squad is conducted by the region’s sports information directors and is powered by
The complete 2009-10 Daktronics All-Atlantic Region women’s basketball squad follows:
First Team
Brooque Williams, California (Atlantic Region Player of the Year)
Tori Hansen, West Liberty
Lauren Beckley, Shippensburg
Donita Adams, Glenville State
Kayla Smith, California
Second Team
Kristina Freeman, Gannon
Ashley Vavrek, Fairmont State
Samantha Reimer, Edinboro
Kasey Gardner, Shippensburg
Laura Malernee, West Liberty
This entry was posted in Athletics, Women's Basketball. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.
  • Categories

  • Archives